Sharing Stories About Nora Aunor and Our Family History Over a Cup of Hot Drinks in the Morning with Mama

I woke up early today, and as I was drinking my hot milk and eating crackers, while my mother was eating her breakfast, and after she tuned the television to the music of Nora Aunor, we had a little sharing. She talked about Nora having her voice wasted because of the alleged drug intake. It was in the Showbiz news many years back. It’s good that she’s being shown on the screen again, because she is the Superstar. I asked my mom questions like if she joined the “Tawag ng Tanghalan” before. She said no, but she joined a contest over the radio and she won as the Grand Champion. She started her career in showbiz by using her voice talent. Also, my mom has always been telling me that she was a vendor of water along the Bicol Express train station before she started her career.

In the 1970’s she was paired with Tirso Cruz III with their tandem as Guy and Pip, while they were compared with the love team of Vilma Santos and Bobot Mortiz. My mom liked Nora Aunor when they were still younger. Their age is not far apart from each other. She used to watch her movies over the cinema after she graduated high school in 1968.

My mom then continued sharing stories while I asked her. She said that she spent eight years selling at our relatives in Bagong Silang Labo, Camarines Norte. Then, she went to Metro Manila in the 70’s, around 1975 to work in the factory of Phil Gloves. She first stayed at the house of my aunt, Tiya Elay and uncle, Tiyo Mario in Malanday, Marikina. Tiya Elay used to be a maid and Tiyo Mario used to be a shoemaker, which Marikina is known for. They have their child, my cousin, Kuya Jonathan. Later on, she stayed at Friendly Village Concepcion Uno, Marikina. She said that there was a shortcut going to the factory from Friendly, or she takes a tricycle or jeep. I exclaimed, “Oh so there’s a tricycle already back then?” She exclaimed back, “Yes!”

She continued on sharing the story. She stayed at Tiya Belen and Auntie Mercy’s place in Manggahan, Pasig, and there, she met my father, where they used to play Scrabble. They stayed at Montalban for a while and then at Philstress Marikina. They got married in civil marriage in 1984 and bore my sister. Then, they transferred to another place at St. Claire III Concepcion Uno, Marikina, where I was born. We stayed there for a while until we left the place to an apartment just in the next block, because the daughter of the house, Ate Eve, will stay in our place.

It’s nice to know the stories over in the morning, when everything is still relaxed. Sharing is truly good over a cup of hot drinks in the morning. I will be able to repeat this as we always are together in the house, at the sala most of the time. It’s a good thing that I am able to know stories. I will write about them again someday.

Have a nice day!

Published by

lesterscope

I am Lester Varela, a Filipino who likes to express oneself through writing. I choose English as the platform for a bigger audience. I make writing as my hobby and I enjoy the thought of having created many articles. I think writing is a worthwhile activity because it is a means of storing your ideas about the things that matter to you.

One thought on “Sharing Stories About Nora Aunor and Our Family History Over a Cup of Hot Drinks in the Morning with Mama”

  1. While Mama and I are watching Nora’s concert, Nora mentioned that she joined the “Tawag ng Tanghalan.” Then, I told Mama, “You told me she didn’t join.” Then she said, “Change it.” I just left a reply because the story can’t be changed.

    Like

Leave a comment