I Suddenly Woke Up In The Middle Of The Night And Came Up With This

It has been a long while since I last wrote a poem. It’s like back in 2015 when I was writing drafts of poems in my notebook. Now, I think I can incorporate this new activity into my blog. I believe that I can better express myself at times through writing poems.

I woke up in the middle of the night and I was unable to sleep afterward because of the sweet thoughts that came into my mind. I felt the love from up above which I need every day to keep up with my life. Now, since it has started, I know that all I have to do is think of all the good things that I learned. As the song goes, by Jose Mari Chan originally by Bing Crosby, a Christmas song that has the line with the same title and the song that I heard on the e-jeepney last night, “Count your blessings (Instead of sheep),” with the focus on counting your blessings, you will know that you have a beautiful life. You just have to know where to look. Merry Christmas!

How Great Thou Art

Oh, you surround me with your beings;
You keep them alive around me.
I am surprised to see them come alive;
But, in the right time, you tell me about them.

I am glad that I am in this situation;
Though I am most of the time suffering,
I am healing inside with every touch of your hand —
The hand that works great with your art.

In you there is life;
I find joy in every thing that I do because of you.
I know that your mighty hands molded these arts
For me to have something to work with using my own hands.

The people you brought into my life are truly blessings;
Sometimes due to frailty, I tend to think the other way.
However, with your loving embrace,
You turn them into puzzle pieces that create a worthwhile time spending with.

With the visions that you instilled in my mind
Of the vacays and all the good stuff like activities in my notes,
I know that I’ll have a long way to go
In this roller coaster ride that is worth jumping into.

As I begin another day,
Let it be you to be my inspiration
To fill my day with perspiration —
A mark that I still live my life with lots of action.

Published by

lesterscope

I am Lester Varela, a Filipino who likes to express oneself through writing. I choose English as the platform for a bigger audience. I make writing as my hobby and I enjoy the thought of having created many articles. I think writing is a worthwhile activity because it is a means of storing your ideas about the things that matter to you.

Leave a comment